941-932-8007
DUI Criminal Penalties

If you are convicted for DUI in Sarasota County Florida, Manatee County Florida, or in most counties of Florida, you may be subjected to criminal penalties as provided by Section 316.193, Florida Statutes. These penalties include the following:

First Offense / Conviction

a. Fine: $250.00 – $500.00 (.20% or higher: $500.00 – $1,000.00)
b. License suspension: 6 months – 1 year
c. Probation: 6 months – 1 year
d. Incarceration: 0 – 6 months (.20% or higher: 0 – 9 months)
e. Impoundment: at least 10 days
f. Ignition interlock device: (.20% or higher: 0-6 months)

Second Offense / Conviction (within 5 years)

a. Fine: $500.00 – $1,000.00 (.20% or higher: $1,000.00 – $2000.00)
b. License suspension: 5 years
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 10 days – 9 months (.20% or higher: 10 days – 1 year)
e. Impoundment: at least 30 days impoundment
f. Ignition device: at least 1 year (.20% or higher: at least 2 years)

Second Offense / Convictin (beyond 5 years)

a. Fine: $500.00 – $1,000.00 (.20% or higher: $1,000.00 – $2,000.00)
b. License Suspension: 6 months – 1 year
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 0 – 9 months (.20 or higher: 0 – 12 months)
e. Ignition device: at least 1 year (.20% or higher: at least 2 years)

Third Conviction within 10 years (Felony)

a. Fine: $.00 – $5,000.00 (.20% or higher: $2,000.00 – $5,000.00)
b. License Suspension: 1 year
c. Probation: 0 to 5 years
d. Incarceration: 30 days – 5 years
e. Impoundment: 90 days impoundment
f. Ignition device: at least 2 years

Third Conviction beyond 10 years (Misdemeanor)

a. Fine: $1,000.00 – $2,500.00 (.20% or higher: $2,000.00 – $5,000.00)
b. License Suspension: 6 months -1 year
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 0 – 1 year
e. Ignition device: at least 2 years

Fourth Offense / Conviction (Misdemeanor)

a. Fine: $1,000.00 – $2,500.00 (.20% or higher: $2,000.00 – $5,000.00)
a. License Suspension: Permanent
a. Probation: 1 year
b. Incarceration: 0 – 1 year

Fourth Offense / Conviction (Felony)

a. Fine: $1,000.00 – $5,000.00 (.20% or higher: $1,000.00 – $5,000.00)
b. License Suspension: Permanent
d. Probation: 0- 5 years
e. Incarceration: 0 – 5 years

Second Refusal (Misdemeanor)

a. Fine: $.00 – $1,000.00
b. License Suspension: 18 months
c. Probation: Up to 1 year
d; Incarceration: 30 days up to 1 year

 

To read more about DUI, follow our Blog.

At DANIELS & HANNAN our Attorneys are able to handle any DUI or related traffic violation that you have and we offer you the personal attention you deserve. Our office staff and Attorneys are able to walk you the best options for defending your rights and explain how it will work from beginning to end.

If you have a DUI or any traffic violation and are in need of a reputable lawyer to represent you, please contact DANIELS & HANNAN to schedule your free consultation at (941) 932-8007 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

DANIELS & HANNAN Attorneys at Law provide experienced legal services in Criminal Defense, Family Law, Divorce Law, DUI Defense, Personal Injury, and Business Law. Providing full service legal representation throughout Southwest Florida with primary offices located in Lakewood Ranch Florida representing clients’ in Sarasota, Manatee, Pinellas, Hillsborough Polk, and Charlotte counties. Daniels & Hannan has the experience needed to manage legal matters before Florida State, County, and Federal Courts in Clearwater, Bradenton, Sarasota, St. Petersburg, Tampa, Venice, Fort Meyers, Naples, and others throughout Southwest Florida.